After The Breakup Emotions Can Run Wild

I often wonder what causes people to act so irrationally after a breakup. Of course, it is a very emotional time, but the cold hard reality is that if you’re acting out of desperation, you’re likely to do things that will permanently damage any chance you have at getting back with your ex.

I look back at some of my previous breakups and I can just shake my head. Is it any wonder that I wound up driving them away and causing them to lose all respect for me in the process?

Desperation is not an attractive quality and, even though I knew it was completely wrong, I refused to stop contacting them in a desperate attempt to reconcile. Begging and pleading might get you a little sympathy, but it is certainly not an attractive trait and will definitely not create any romantic feelings were your ex is concerned.

In fact, you’re more likely to show them a side of you they never thought existed. In some cases, they might even wonder what they were doing with you in the first place.

So if you find yourself in the middle of a similar situation right now, the only advice I can give you is to break off contact completely and make yourself scarce for a week or two. Give the situation time to defuse and for your emotions to subside. Afterwards, you will look at the situation in a completely different light.

One Response

  1. It’s true. I just read a letter by a woman about to write one final letter to express herself. Why is it that all of our instincts betray us in times like that?

Leave a Reply

